Japanese Cheese Tarts in Manila

During our trip to Japan, we discovered this delicious cheese tart in a convenience store. It had a pastry crust and the filling was very cheesy. To my surprise, I saw an article about some Japanese cheese tarts being sold in Cafe Kumori in SM North EDSA The Block.

Cafe Kumori sells a lot of bread products. I tried out a few of their specialties: the Kumori Signature Hanjuku Cheese (original), the Kumori Signature Cheese Tart, the Crabstick Bun and the Custard Butter mini.

Collage_Fotor_Fotor

I tried the cheese tart first. I liked this crust better than the one I tasted in Tokyo because it was sweeter. But the cheese filling here is less cheesy. It was still okay, though. The Hanjuku Cheese was soft and creamy and really melt-in-your-mouth. The crabstick bun was delicious, with generous amounts of crabsticks in it. The custard butter bun was quite plain.

There are still a lot of pastries that I want to try in Cafe Kumori. I hope I will enjoy them as much as I did the cheese tart and the crabstick bun.

Leave a Reply

