Our Math Champion

Last month, Trixi was chosen to represent her school in the Regional Division of the MathScore Quiz Bee. The school fielded one contestant per grade level from Grade 3 to Grade 9. She was the Grade 6 representative. Two of them, Trixi and the Grade 7 contestant, placed in the top three in their field and went on to the Nationals.

P1050086a

I had mixed feelings about going to the competition with her. I wanted to provide moral support for her but I didn’t know if my presence would distract her. We ended up asking her if she wanted me there and she said yes. So I accompanied her to the Nationals. We met up with her Math coach and the other contestant from her school. She was cool the whole time, just trying to answer the questions in the other grade levels.

When it was her turn to compete, I was a nervous wreck. I tried to focus on the questions but I couldn’t think of anything. I was just looking at her and admiring how cool she still was. If she was nervous, she sure didn’t show it. After a couple of mistakes in the easy round, she was on a roll. She aced the average and difficult rounds, where correct answers carried more weight. She won first place in her division! I couldn’t believe it, and for a while, neither could she. So proud of you, our Math Champion!

Our Math Champion

Our Math Champion

Leave a Reply

